mddanax.blogg.se

Smartsvn vs tortoise svn
Smartsvn vs tortoise svn














Git is a lesser known alternative for version control but has some highly advanced features. I was up and running with VisualSVN in about five minutes (including setting up my first repo and doing the initial file commit!). As an added bonus, there is no pressure into using TortoiseSVN for anything! To answer the question before it gets asked, my SVN client of choice is Syntevo’s SmartSVN. The biggest benefit of VisualSVN is the inclusion of a GUI driven admin utility for configuring your repositories and user accounts. This package includes everything necessary to set up your SVN host (the SVN package itself and an Apache server). After a bit more research I also came across Visual SVN Server. It also relies heavily on trying to get you using TortoiseSVN which I am not a fan of. It still required some very sysadmin style tasks to set up user access and repositories. One was called “1 click SVN hosting for Windows” and was hosted directly at the Tigris website, but I found its implementation lacking. After searching for a while I found a few possibilities.

#Smartsvn vs tortoise svn windows

SVN has been around long enough that there are some mature client tools to choose from on the Windows platform but there are not many mature one-click solutions available for hosting your own repository. Subversion is a common developer favorite program due to its ease of use and more advanced (and stable) functionality than the stalward CVS. The two tools I was interested in choosing between were Git and Subversion. That being the case, I searched for some easy to use tools that would allow me to get version control running on my Windows box at home without too much hassle or deep configuration. Having such a tool available for my VST development projects at home is very valuable but I find system administration to be a task I am not cut out for. I work with such a system at my job every day where we have dedicated system administrators to keep it running. If you’ve worked with a version control system then you know how powerful that tool can be.














Smartsvn vs tortoise svn